Chapter 5 – Awoken Dragon, blurb and cover

I’ve mentioned my upcoming book a few times already, so I figured it was time I properly introduced it. The book will hopefully be out in December, but I’ll announce the actual date closer.

Awoken Dragon is a YA fantasy novel, but I’ll let the cover image and blurb do the first bit of talking:

Awoken Dragon cover image

“Ryan’s plans of a quiet, normal 18th birthday are wiped away when he discover he’s a dragon – the flying, fire-breathing kind of dragon found in stories. As if that wasn’t enough, he’s told he belongs to another world, a world of dragons, which lies beyond a magical gate. The Gate holds the balance between these two worlds, but now Ryan’s mere presence is putting everyone at stake, as magic should exist only on one side of the Gate.

In order to prevent the Gate breaking and to return to his normal life, Ryan agrees to follow a mage to the other side, his sister in tow. Only, there’s a new problem: there might be another dragon in the world of humans, further endangering the balance. As time ticks away, Ryan sets out to find this other dragon before it’s too late, unaware just what kind of changes and decisions he’ll have to face during the journey, and how far will their consequences reach.”

***

The cover and blurb might still go through some tweaks (such as adding an author name to the bottom of the cover), but the main idea will stay the same.

I’ve been working on this novel for about a year now, although it took me a while to start the editing process after the story was done. I’ve had ups and downs with it, but overall writing it has been a great experience. Only a year ago I didn’t believe I would ever accomplish my dream of publishing a book. Then this novel happened!

I’m going with the self-publishing route for a few reasons. Firstly, I like to have control over my work. I use outside help to edit and to get feedback, but the final decisions will be mine. This is something I want to do, and I want to do it my way. The second reason is that I’m writing in English, which isn’t my native language, and I didn’t want to get into the whole mess of trying to find a foreign publisher. Perhaps it’s as easy as getting a publisher in my own country, but the first reason would still be stronger.

I’m going to publish through CreateSpace, so my book will be available in Amazon webstores, both in the United States and Europe. I’ll also publish an Amazon Kindle version.

This post isn’t that long, but I mainly wanted to bring Awoken Dragon to your attention. I’m happy to answer any questions about the novel (not including spoilers), and I’m still open to feedback on the cover and blurb. So all comments are welcome!

6 thoughts on “Chapter 5 – Awoken Dragon, blurb and cover

  1. Hi Niina, I read a few of your posts, and was surprised to read that English is not your native language. I didn’t get that impression from your writing. Fantasy and YA are not my genres of choice for reading (I am channeling your Absinthe post now!) but your book premise sounds interesting.
    Good luck with the self-publishing. The first book is the toughest, as the learning curve is pretty steep! I don’t claim to know everything, but feel free to ask me questions if you think I can help.

    Like

    • I’ve been learning English for over half my life, so it’s nice that my writing doesn’t immediately reveal it’s not my native language. I believe the learning curve is steep and I know I have a lot to learn, but I’m trying my best. And awesome that I can ask you questions some time, I’ll definitely keep that offer in mind 🙂 Even if you don’t know everything, you certainly have much more experience than I do. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

