Chapter 31 – First Royalties

I just received my first royalties for Awoken Dragon. It was an exciting feeling of fulfillment, pride and joy.

writing_money
Picture by Images Money

The amount I received wasn’t huge. It was quite a little actually, but I don’t mind. For the first time ever I got paid for something I really wanted to do, for something I created, not for something I did just to get money for the bills. It was my work and no one told me to do it. I didn’t have to publish it, but I did. I’m very proud of achieving this dream, and getting a little something for it just strengthened my sense of fulfillment.

I can’t pay the bills with the royalty I got but I can get groceries for a week or two. In my situation even that means a lot. The Christmas shopping season was good to┬ámy book so next month I’ll get a bit more, because the royalties come around two months after the actual sales month.

The payment was straightforward and I didn’t have to do anything, except provide my information way back when I published. I received an email from Amazon about a week before the payment, stating the amount and payment date. It said it could take 2 to 3 days to show up but I got it on the payment date.

While I’m more interested in getting reviews and feedback, I can’t say I’m not happy to receive a little compensation for my work. I think the amount I get from Amazon is very reasonable and well worth it. This was only for my ebooks though. The paperbacks are handled through CreateSpace and it works a little differently, so I can’t yet say anything about that. Maybe later (the demand for paperbacks is less than a fraction of ebooks and there’s a threshold before I receive my payments).

For anyone interested, I’ve also started working on the draft for the sequel of Awoken Dragon. I’ve made good progress over the past two weeks, averaging a few thousand words a day, so even though it’s nowhere near ready, I’m happy with it. I’m expecting it to take a month or two to get the draft ready and do first edits. Depends on how busy I’ll be. But I’m going to release the sequel towards the end of the year again. I should have started earlier, I know, but I’m still confident I can do it.

I’m looking forward to seeing how my sales go from here on. The first few months are probably the busiest (and like I said, December was a hit) but I’m hoping it will generate interest even after that. If you’ve read the book and liked it, also feel free to review it on Amazon or Goodreads or any other site you wish. Every word means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

