Review: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle is a collection of short stories told by Dr. Watson, describing cases he has worked on with Sherlock Holmes, and also a few stories which are told to Watson by Holmes.

Memoirs_of_Sherlock_Holmes_by_Arthur_Conan_Doyle

I liked the short stories a lot. My previous experiences with Sherlock Holmes were limited to games by Frogware, but those pushed me towards reading the original stories. Fortunately this collection didn’t include any stories that were adapted into games so they weren’t spoiled for me.

I’m not sure which stories were my favorites, but I really liked The Gloria Scott, and The Final Adventure. I’m not going to spoil their plots but the deductions in them were good. Every story was compact but told what needed to be told. They were quick and easy reads, and I usually read one story in one go. These stories are all “tell, don’t show” so some might not find it that interesting to read pages after pages of clients describing their cases and then Holmes describing his train of thought. Reading about the methods used by Holmes, it’s easy to understand why people wanted help from Conan Doyle in real life crimes and mysteries.

As I haven’t read any of the Sherlock Holmes novels or the previous short story collection (Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, there’s also three collections that came out after this), I’m not sure if the style is different from those, but I liked it in any case. Perhaps some tags were repeated a little too much (just about everyone always ‘cried’ their lines) but it wasn’t distracting.

I’m planning on reading more Sherlock Holmes stories, probably starting from A Study in Scarlet and then continuing in order.

∗4/5∗

4 thoughts on “Review: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

  1. The original stories are much better than any adaptation, by far. Doyle’s use of imagery mixed witty cliché british humor is unmatchable in short literature. I’ve read all the short story collection and A study in Scarlett without any disappointment. Way better than the movies!

    Like

    • I’ve started reading A Study in Scarlet and so far I’ve really enjoyed it. I like that despite the dark themes (murders and what not) there’s still that humor you mentioned. Which short story / story collection is your favorite?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have to say the memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, more because that’s the collection that introduced me to the classic Sherlock. Also, it has the juicier stories including the one with Professor Moriarty, the bad guy in the recent movie. Some of the slang of the time is hard to follow sometimes, but I still enjoy reading them.

        Like

      • The story with Professor Moriarty was one of my favorites in the collection. I’ll have to read and review the other collections/novels too when I have the chance, to see how they are.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

