Chapter 37 – Scheduling Editing

I was on holiday this week and instead of using the time to work on my draft or hone my skills, I played games, watched TV and ate delicious foods. But now it’s time to schedule, if I want to accomplish anything.

SML_Notebooks_by_See-ming_Lee
Picture by See-ming Lee

My goal is to release the sequel for Awoken Dragon around November, which means I still have seven whole months, plus the rest of this one and a part of November itself. Sounds like a lot but with everything else I have to do, I know I need to get cracking soon. My first draft still hasn’t been typed to the computer but I’m planning on getting that done during next week. I already have some major revision ideas and I’m going to write some of those while I type it, instead of just repeating every word as it is. Maybe I should just write and not edit at first, but I see no reason to add something on the computer version that’s going to be cut away instantly after I’m done.

After the story is on the computer, I’ll start with the actual revisions and edits. There are characters to cut, plot points to fix, and chapters to add. Not to mention all the facts and names I have to set straight. I’m excellent at putting off writing missing chapters and scenes, by the way.

I want to do one round of editing by myself, without comments from anyone else. When that’s done, I’ll hand it over to beta readers. This is the part that’s going to take a long while. They need time to read and comment, and then I’ll need time to make changes. After that I’d like to send it back for more comments once or max. twice. Too many revision rounds will just break it in my opinion. I can mull over a story forever, making a little change here and another one there, but that really serves no one. At some point I have to say the story is as good as it can currently get, and move on.

Looking back, I think I could’ve done a better job with Awoken Dragon. But I’m certain that once the sequel is out and some time has passed, I’ll think the same. I could always do better because I’m constantly improving. The bad thing is that I can never improve beyond the story until I’m done with it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy with AD! I’m still incredibly proud of it, but I can also understand the problems people have pointed out, and I’m determined to do better this time.

scrivener
My Scrivener is ready for action

Scheduling. Right.

I’d like to get my own revisions and edits done by 12th of April, meaning I’ll have about a month. I need a few weeks for the final touches (typo checks, formatting fixes, proof orders etc.) so the book should be ready before the end of October.

I haven’t contacted my previous beta reader yet but I’ll do that once the first edits are mostly done. And because more people mean more opinions and more comments, I’ll also be on the lookout for additional help.

Would you like to beta read the sequel for Awoken Dragon? Anything from typo checks to comments about characters and plot is welcome, and you can choose whether you’d like to read the whole thing or just a few chapters. Let me know!

To sum up:

  1. Type up the story by March 15
  2. Fix biggest issues by March 29
  3. Write missing chapters/scenes by April 9
  4. Fix typos and small errors by April 12
  5. Find beta readers and send off chapters

From that on, the schedule is also up to my beta readers, even though I’d like to receive comments within a week or two (I like to send two chapters at a time so it won’t be too much to read at once) so I can start working on them. I’m not too worried about it yet. I’ll have to see how it goes and then work out some new deadlines if it starts to look like I won’t make it.

That’s not a perfect schedule and I know it, but at least it’s a start and that’s important right now. Then there’s creating the cover and all other fun stuff, but I’m choosing not to think about them yet. All in good time. When I get to the editing part, I’ll probably do some related blog posts to share how I work.

Are your schedules usually better than this or do you even have them? Are deadlines good or bad for your motivation and working? If you’ve written a book, how long did it take you to edit it?

One thought on “Chapter 37 – Scheduling Editing

Leave a Reply

