Review: Akarnae by Lynette Noni

Akarnae by Lynette Noni is, as advertised, a mix of Harry Potter, X-Men and Narnia. And it really is a wonder to embrace.

akarnae_by_Lynette_Noni

Akarnae follows 16-year-old Alex(andra Jennings) who stumbles through a doorway and ends up in another world, Medora. Things are quite different there, ranging from gifted people to delicious medicine. Despite her confusion, Alex has to learn to adapt to the new rules around her because her only hope of getting back to her world – Freya – is Professor Marselle, who is going to be away for months. Fortunately the Akarnae Academy, a boarding school for people with extraordinary gifts, offers her more than enough things to do, including Combat, Equestrian and Chemistry classes. And of course there’s Bear and Jordan to keep her company and make sure mischief will happen.

I fully enjoyed this book and on several occasions I found myself reading it with a wide grin on my face. The characters were great and likable (and I could relate to them), especially the main trio, and I’m looking forward to seeing how they develop in the next books. There are also several side characters I’m very interested in seeing again.

I noticed a few times when things seemed too repetitive and some plot points didn’t feel all that surprising, although there still were those I did not see coming.

Then the big con. It’s book one of the Medoran Chronicles and I have to wait how long to read the next? Series are great because I like getting immersed in new worlds and following their characters, but I always forget the down side of new series: there’s waiting involved. But if the next book is anywhere nearly as good as this, I’ll gladly wait. It was a pleasure to enter the world of Medora, and this was one of the best books I’ve read in a while.

∗5/5∗

2 thoughts on “Review: Akarnae by Lynette Noni

  1. Lynette Noni says:

    Thanks so much for the awesome review! So glad to hear you enjoyed reading it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] was wonderful to return to Medora and be reunited with Alex. In my earlier review of Akarnae, the first book of the Chronicles, I said it was one of the best books I’ve read in a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

