Chapter 49 – Reading Habits

This year has been great for me book-wise (or any other wise but let’s focus on books). Here’s what I’ve noticed about my reading habits.

Bookshelves
Picture by Barron Webster

The inspiration to this post actually came from Lynette Noni’s post What Kind of Reader are you? (she saw it on The Literacy Site who found it on BookLikes who-… anyway, a chain inspiration).

I’ve read amazing books by amazing authors, and I’ve managed to build some sort of list of what I’ll be reading next. I’ve noticed that if I don’t have a title (or three) in mind when I finish a book, it might take me a while to get back to reading. I need momentum.

I’ve read more books this year than I did last year. Maybe even last year combined with the year before that. I used to read all the time when I was younger but then something got in the way and it got pushed to the side. I couldn’t be happier to be back in the worlds of books again!

But what kind of reader am I? Here are the types:

whatkindofreader

I suppose I’m a monogamist-introvert with a touch of extrovert thrown in. I like to focus on one book at a time. Sometimes I might be reading an ebook and a physical book for different occasions (like ebooks for short journeys or breaks at school/work, and physical books for hours of simultaneous reading). But no more than two. I’m a master at blending things together in my head and even though I also consider myself a master of multitasking, it doesn’t extend to stories. Too many stories at once, especially in similar genres, and I’ll start mixing them up in my head. Then again, I can also remember specific scenes from books I’ve read ages ago. My memory tends to surprise me.

Recently I’ve also tried to be more “grab whatever you can”-type of person. Previously I’ve had trouble getting stuck with one genre for long periods of time. There were times I only read high fantasy, times I read just horse stories, times I focused on military-themed books, and times I wanted sci-fi. If I get sucked into a great book, it might just pull me into the genre and then it’s hard to let go.

Looking back at the books I’ve read this year, there’s definitely some genre variation. Maybe not as much as I’d hoped, and to be honest there aren’t many books that fall into categories I haven’t read and liked before. But it’s still a start? Maybe I need to throw more extrovert into the mix and just blindly point at a book without knowing anything about it.

Also a big change I’ve noticed is that I actually finish books. Yay me! Leaving books unfinished has never been a big issue but it has happened, and the worst part is that it doesn’t happen to bad books. I’ve started reading good books, liked them, but then just forgotten them for whatever reason. But no more! If I start, I’ll finish.

Has the way you read changed over the years? What are you planning on reading over the summer?

3 thoughts on “Chapter 49 – Reading Habits

  1. One major change is that I used to read only fiction and now I read mainly nonfiction. I also only used to read one book at a time but now I sometimes have three on the go.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Polygamist-extrovert-altruist. Only when it comes to books. 😛
    Identify? Not likely. Symphatise? More probable. But there have to be “enough similarities” between me and a character. I’m reading Serbian fantasy (Order of the dragon) and there is one character I can somewhat relate to (monk Gabriel). In The Luminaries on the other hand, I have no such character. It’s all so cold and distant. I do feel pity for one of the Chinese men, but that’s all.

    As for the mix, I don’t grab anything without looking. I do have broad interests, so I can shuffle the books I read. Maybe just pick a topic you would like to read about, and then try to find a book that would suit you. In my “calendar challenge” (in Polish) I have themes for books based on the calendar events. For May it’s Mary’s names day (so, a book written by Mary) and a book from European country (Europe Day / EU day). But I had the themes on autisms, Gypsies, etc. In June, since it’s Midsummer, I have the theme of books related to Slavic people. I plan to read both a historical book and fantasy. 😉 And of course, I still have the world countries challenge. I plan to read Sofi Oksanen’s The Purge before she comes to Poland in the middle of June. Jamaican (May), Icelandic, Russian books are also waiting for me. Through summer, I think I’ll get to “N” like “Nihon” (Japan) or Norge or Nicaragua at least. 😉

    Like

    • I think the reader types can also vary depending on the books. There are some (many) characters who I’ve identified with but your point about symphatising was a good one. It didn’t cross my mind when writing this post but now that you’ve mentioned it, I realize I also symphatise with characters a lot and it makes me enjoy the book more.

      That calendar challenge sounds nice! Maybe I’ll try to come up with something similar for the summer months when I’ll have more time. Do you usually pick a topic and read several books on it before moving on to the next topic, or do you read one book of one interest and then another book of another interest etc. ?

      From what I’ve heard, the Purge is a great book. Once you’ve read it, I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

