Chapter 51 – An Ending Of Sorts

Back in January I wrote about starting a new chapter in my life. Now the end of that chapter is near, so I wanted to look back at what I’ve accomplished.

IcelandNature_by_Moyan_Brenn

Picture by Moyan Brenn on Flickr

Like I said in the old post, I started an internship in January and now I only have a few days of it left.

I’ve learned a lot over these months. I know a lot more than I did before and I believe I now have some good basic knowledge for when I’ll apply for an actual job. I didn’t get an epiphany and figure out exactly what I want to do with my life, but one direction is already a lot clearer. All in all, an excellent experience!

In autumn I’ll return to doing school work and working on my thesis, and then hopefully I’ll graduate in December. That means I still have half a year to figure out where I’d like to work but it just seems so little.

Back in January I also talked about writing full time. It has started to sound more appealing to me and with the economy the way it is, somehow I’m not as stressed about finding work as I used to be. I’ve even thought about writing articles or the like, although I haven’t looked into it much.

I’m still lagging behind on my “write 6 short stories this year”-goal, so I’m going to dedicate some summer time for those. My next bigger step in writing is trying my hand at some short story competitions. Even if I don’t win, it’s still great practice. Do you know any good competitions that are open during the summer?

Over the summer I’m also focusing on editing the sequel for Awoken Dragon. I’ve sent it off to beta readers and have already gotten some feedback to use for the edits. I couldn’t be more excited about it! Perhaps I’ll even release some bits of info about it before autumn comes.

Another thing I’m excited about is my trip to Budapest which is just around the corner. Now is a good time for last minute tips and suggestions! I have something planned already but there’s plenty of room for more. I’ll make a post (or two) about the trip once I get back, hopefully with nice photographs and everything.

Has a chapter in your life recently come to an end or have you started a new chapter completely? Do you have new writing related goals? Do you participate in writing competitions?

Leave a Reply

