Review: Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J. L. Bryan

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper starts a new series that follows Ellie, a ghost hunter living in Savannah, an extremely haunted city in Georgia.

GhostTrapperBookCoverNEW

It’s just another day at work for Ellie when she’s called to the Treadwell residence. The family has recently bought a long-abandoned mansion and are set on renovating it, but something gets in their way. Door bolts open in the dead of the night, there are odd footsteps, and the family’s child insists she has seen the ghost of a woman. Ellie and her new assistant, Stacey, take on the case which they assume will be a walk in the park. But not everything is at it seems at the old Marsh house. Something dark and dangerous lurks in the shadows, something much worse than anyone anticipated.

I haven’t read many ghost novels but I thought I’d give this a try. The very beginning of the book felt slightly off and I even considered not reading the rest, but I’m glad I did because once the story got properly started, it drew me in. I especially liked the protagonist Ellie. She had a good nature and funny remarks, and the way she interacted with Stacey in particular was very believable. I could see their differences and similarities, and I liked how Stacey was portrayed.

The book had some creepy moments, perhaps in part because I read it at night before going to sleep. The descriptions really brought the story alive and I could easily imagine the places the characters visited. I didn’t predict the end of the story which is always good. There was enough “ghost tech” that Ellie’s line of work seemed serious enough, but it didn’t go into too many details that would’ve bogged it down. All in all the book was very balanced and the story rolled out at a nice pace.

There are several other books in the series and I could easily read another one. If you’re into paranormal and ghosts, definitely consider giving this series a chance.

∗4/5∗

Leave a Reply

