Chapter 97 – I Want to Make You Cry…

…and I want to make you laugh. To make you angry, then happy. And I want to make this all happen by showing you my words.

lightinthewood_by_profBizzarro
Pictyre by prof. Bizzarre

Causing a reaction is probably the best thing that can happen to a writer. I suppose a positive reaction is the best of the best, but anything is better than sheer indifference.

Yet indifference happens a lot. There are tons of books out there, and the chances of getting your work noticed isn’t all that high. Even when someone notices, there’s no guarantee the reader will actually buy your book, then actually read it, and then actually give a damn.

I’ve had a couple of strong reactions to other people’s work in just a couple of days. First, I was wondering what to read next. My To Read-pile is sky high as it is, don’t get me wrong, but somehow none of those books seemed to fit my taste of the moment. And then it hit me. I wanted to read a very specific book that I currently didn’t own. So in the cover of the night, I went and bought the ebook. I was hooked.

Why was I hooked? To be fair, it surprised me. The book was part two of a series and while I had liked book one, I’d never felt a huge urge to move on in the series. It’s more of a “several finished stories with the same characters-“kind of series (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper), so there hadn’t been a cliffhanger. But for whatever reason, that series popped into my head and I knew it was exactly what I wanted to read.

That’s a writer leaving an impression, right there. That’s a story showing me such a good time I want to try another.

The second example came from the world of games. It was an episodic story adventure game (Tales from the Borderlands) and it completely drew me in from the start. It was funny and witty, and the characters were awesome and unique, and the world was beautiful. I gave a huge damn about that world and the characters. I wanted to know more. Excellent storytelling.

And I want to tell great stories too. I want to write and I want my writing to cause a whole spectrum of emotions in the readers. I’m always learning to write better and to edit better and to plan better, but what I’m hoping for is that eventually readers will feel as strongly about my stories as I feel about other people’s stories. I want readers to stop after the book is finished and think about what a ride it was. And, preferably, pick another one of my books to read.

Writing is hard and daunting. Writing is also fun and rewarding. Reading tends to be more on the latter side, so that’s what I’m aiming for. Writing fun and rewarding books for the reader.

Time to get back to writing stories now.

Leave a Reply

