Chapter 100 – For the Love of Dragons

I’ve been fascinated by dragons since forever. I can’t even pinpoint when it all started. All I know is that dragons are magnificent creatures and here’s why.

The thing I love most about dragons is the way they entice our imagination.Β There are dragon myths across the planet, all with some local flavors. Even to this day we create new myths and stories. Of course there are other mythical creatures that are still widely popular and used, but nothing quite measures up to how majestic dragons are.

Intelligent, wise dragons? They’re out there. Hoarders of gemstones and gold? Yup, we got some. Mindless beasts that ravage the land? Sure thing!

Dragons have been portrayed in so many ways that there’s one for every situation. Some are shapeshifters, some have magic powers…

No one is really sure where the first dragon myths came from, which might be the reason dragons are so diverse in our minds. European dragons and Asian dragons, for example, vary greatly, which gives us the perfect opportunity to get creative.

SpyroTheDragon

Spyro the Dragon might have been my first real, long-lasting touch to dragons. I remember playing it on PlayStation 1 and having an absolute blast. First I played Spyro: Year of the Dragon and then went back to give Gateway to Glimmer (aka Ripto’s Rage!) a try. I loved the games and the whimsical characters and, of course, the little cutie purple dragon that could flap his wings and burn the bad guys.

Recently I even watched a playthrough of Year of the Dragon on YouTube to get all nostalgic! Not as much fun as playing it yourself but worked in a pinch.

Somewhere down the line my younger self created a dragon obsession that continues to this day. I’m a worse hoarder than some dragons.

Before I moved, I had a shelf that was essentially the Dragon Land, which you can see in the picture below.

dragonworld

And that picture was taken in 2009. The collection has since grown, but I can’t for the life of me find a more recent picture and I only have a fraction of my dragons with me in my current apartment. Stupid space limits. When I buy a house, I need a room just for dragons.

Some recent additions that I do have with me include these three fellas:

dragontrio

The blue one is Brightwing, a faerie dragon hailing from the Warcraft universe,Β while the one in the back is none other than Smaug from The Hobbit.

To sum up: If it has dragons in it, I’m game.

Who are your favorite dragons? Are you as infatuated by dragons as I am? If yes, let’s be friends!

4 thoughts on “Chapter 100 – For the Love of Dragons

  1. Hi again! Of course I love dragons too, and I love your collection! That one with the sword in the center is amazing. I too loved the Spyro series, and some of my other favorites are the dragons of Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series. I’ve wanted my own clutch of fire lizards for absolutely ever!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • The middle one with the sword is one of favorites (I hope the rest didn’t hear that…). I’m still hopeful that my dragon egg necklace (from Game of Thrones) will one day hatch but I guess until that I’ll keep on growing my regular collection. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay, I found the post you mentioned!! πŸ˜€

    Oooh, I love your collection. Very awesome πŸ˜€ Many of my dragons have ‘war scars’ from all of the moves I’ve made over the past decade. Some have even perished (just my glass-blown dragons…) But dragons will always endure in my apartment πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

