Chapter 107 – Girl Power!

For some reason I tend to be at least a day late with important dates, for example the International Women’s Day that was yesterday. In any case, I’m going to celebrate it now!

I did a post about my favorite characters a while back and even though I haven’t yet made a list of other types of characters, I’m going right back to awesome female characters and why I’ve liked them so much.

CIRILLA

Ciri

Ciri or Cirilla Fiona Elen Riannon (The Witcher-saga)
As the Princess of Cintra and Child of the Elder Blood, most of Ciri’s life has been a struggle. Her kingdom was invaded when she was just a child and she barely escaped. Ever since people have wanted to find her for their own purposes. Over the years she grows into a strong woman who can hold her own with any weapon and even magic. No matter the situation, she’s always ready to help those close to her and she’ll stop at nothing to protect them.

Mary Poppins (Mary Poppins)
The best nanny anyone could hope for. Surely I wasn’t the only one to hope for a fireplace so I could summon Mary with a burnt “nanny wanted”-ad? I loved the songs in the movie version and I loved Mary’s attitude in general. She gets things done but also knows how to have fun. Even though I’m not sure singing makes cleaning fun, it does make it a little bit more tolerable at least.

124866_D_1620

Regina Mills

Regina Mills (Once Upon A Time)
Regina’s title, The Evil Queen, might tell you more about her, but I have to say she’s grown to be one of my favorites. She’s strong and nothing — and no one — can stand in her way. I won’t spoil anything but when I started watching the series, I didn’t like her at all and couldn’t understand why anyone else would either. Somehow she’s won me over.

Black Widow/Natasha Romanova (The Avengers)
My evaluation is based on the Marvel Cinematic Universe as I haven’t read any comics, but I think her character is great. She kicks ass while being all feminine and awesome. I know some people didn’t like what Marvel “did to her character” in The Avengers 2 but for me it just made her deeper.

Gabrielle (Xena: Warrior Princess)
Xena made it on my first list and Gabrielle was mentioned, but she deserves her own entry. Growing from a young, naive farm girl into the Queen of the Amazons is quite the accomplishment, right? She stands by Xena through the good and the bad, and picks up skills that help them along the way. What’s more, she can also talk her way out of a bad situation.

chihiro

Chihiro

Chihiro Ogino/Sen (Spirited Away)
Chihiro is a strong little girl who’d do anything to help her family once they get turned into pigs and she gets stuck in world of spirits and gods. And doing “anything” when working in a spa for the gods can indeed be anything. Despite her age she shows her wisdom and bravery, never giving up despite the situation. (As a side note, I could make a separate list with just Studio Ghibli’s female leads but for this list Chihiro will have to represent them all.)

Hit-Girl/Mindy McCready (Kick-Ass)
How wrong is it to think a young girl killing bad guys is awesome? Well, perhaps the killing part is not awesome, but Hit Girl is definitely a character you don’t want to mess with. She’s young and doesn’t have a life normal girls should, but she’s rocking it anyway. She still has a “normal” softer side but she’s always determined to finish the job and give the bad guys what they deserve.


So those were another few of my favorite characters. What are some of yours? Any similarities?

 

Leave a Reply

