Chapter 113 – Creeping Insecurity

Insecurity has a funny way of creeping up on people. It lurks in the shadows and, at the first signs of weakness, it pounces. Good thing is we can fight back.

shadow_by_TakashiM
Picture by Takashi .M

Now, just because we can fight back doesn’t mean we always do. Writing is tough and sometimes it feels like every word is the wrong word. Or sometimes there are simply no words at all.

Writer’s block is famous for halting any and all progress, even when you have ideas flying around in your head. Insecurity is a bit trickier because it doesn’t necessarily mean you can’t write or that everything you write is inherently bad. It’s actually very likely you write something good but that big creeping shadow sitting on your shoulder is great at convincing you otherwise.

Your writing sucks. You suck as a writer. Everything you’ve ever written sucks and so does everything you might write in the future. So why not quit?

Don’t quit! The shadow is mean but that’s its job. Your job is to keep writing, no matter what.

Honestly, I haven’t had this much trouble writing a blog post in a while. I’m not even sure why. My Camp April story is going well, I haven’t fallen behind on words (I might today but fortunately I have tomorrow free for just catching up), I haven’t hit a major wall with the plot or characters.

But insecurity still managed to creep up on me while I wasn’t looking. I’m pretty sure the shadow succeeded at stopping me from writing for Camp today, but at least I’m pulling this blog post together. Is it the best post I’ve made? No. Is that the end of the world? No.

That’s what I’m here to tell you. Being insecure is okay. Doubting your work and words is okay, it’s more than normal actually. It’s hard to push through when you second guess everything you manage to create, but I promise it’ll get easier.

Word after word, and that shadow will eventually get tired and fly off to bug some other writer.

I can feel mine yawning in boredom already. (Sorry in advance if it happens to find you next!)

Do you often feel insecure about your writing? How do you handle it? Have you found a way to get rid of that shadow for good, maybe?

Leave a Reply

