Chapter 119 – Sharing the Love

The other day I was reminded of one of the great aspects of reading: sharing the love for reading.

reading_by_SamGreenhalgh
Picture by Sam Greenhalgh.

I was out getting myself something new to read and happened to notice John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. I’ve heard a lot about it, both good and bad, both considering the book and the movie. But since I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy lately, I figured I’d give it a shot. Also I’ve heard a lot of people have cried while reading it. Any story capable of doing that must have some good qualities, right?

Anyhow.

I went to the check out counter and while I waited for the cashier to handle my transaction, I heard someone speak up behind me. At first I didn’t pay any attention to it (this is Finland — we don’t speak to strangers) but then I recognized the words “Fault in Our Stars.”

Turned out there were too foreign girls behind me (sorry for the crude ‘foreigner’ tag, but I didn’t have the time to find out where they were from) and one of them was looking at me, saying “That’s a great book!”

Now, let me repeat myself. In Finland, you do not talk to strangers. Usually. So of course I was a bit baffled, but the girl kept smiling and praising the book. She said she loved it and that I’d love it too. She also said I’d probably cry while reading.

Know what?

That made my day a whole lot better. I love reading and delving into new worlds, but I never really share my reading experiences with anyone. Sure, I write the reviews and I usually blurt out a more-than-confusing summary to my boyfriend, but I can’t remember the last time I had a conversation about a book. The whole “Oh yeah, I really enjoyed this book.” “Me too! What did you like about it?” “Well, there was this scene where…” happens to me extremely┬árarely.

Even though the brief exchange at the cashier’s desk didn’t get too deep or last more than a minute, it gave me that warm and fuzzy sense of belonging. We’re in this reading thing together!

Of course I also complimented her and her friend’s book choice, because you can never go wrong with Moomin books.

So for that very, very brief moment, we shared something similar┬áto friendship. It’s like meeting a member of some secret club on the street. You notice your shared emblem (the book) and reveal you’re one of those book lovers too.

The point of this babbling post then is: share your love for reading!

If you see someone reading a good book, let them know. Maybe suggest something else they’d like. If you see someone reading a book you’ve never heard of, why not ask their opinions on it so far?

The smallest things can sometimes make the day. And when it comes to reading, you can rarely go wrong with a “hey I’ve read that too, it’s great!” -cheer.

One thought on “Chapter 119 – Sharing the Love

Leave a Reply

