Chapter 144 – Game On

Other than writing, one of my favorite ways to spend time is playing games. I don’t play as much as I used to, but here are three games I’ve enjoyed recently.

gwent

GWENT: The Wicther Card Game
(Fine, this isn’t out yet. It’s not even in beta, but I did get to participate in two rounds of Kill the Servers! The goal of these events was to stress the servers so the content wasn’t polished, but it was still good fun.)

For those of you unfamiliar, Gwent is a strategic card game from the Witcher universe. I loved the mini game in Witcher 3 and I’m super excited that they decided to turn it into a standalone game. The basic rules aren’t too complicated to grasp but still too long to explain here, so if you’re interested, you should head on over to PlayGwent.com. Or just play Witcher 3.

deponia

Deponia Trilogy (Deponia, Chaos on Deponia, Goodbye Deponia)
Deponia is a point and click game series with some seriously wacky characters and humor. It follows Rufus, a… unique kind of man living on Deponia which is basically a world drowned in trash. Rufus’s biggest dream is to leave the planet and get on Elysium, a floating town where the rich live in peace and harmony. He sees a chance to fulfill his dream when he unexpectedly runs into Goal, a woman from Elysium.

Deponia has a good amount of puzzle solving, most of which include Rufus wreaking havoc on everything, everyone and everywhere, despite his best intentions. I’m not a point and click whiz so I got stuck in a couple of places over the course of the trilogy, but I was still able to finish it. If you’re into this type of games, you should give it a try!

shelter

Shelter
Shelter puts you in the paws of a mother badger, trying to raise her young in a world filled with dangers. You start of with five cubs and then wander through five levels, all of which have their unique problems. These problems include hungry foxes, coursing rivers and forest fires for example.

It’s a very quick game (I think I went through it in a couple of hours) and the mechanics couldn’t be easier, but I liked it. The art style in particular was great. The only downside is that you’ll get really attached to your little badger babies so it’s heart-wrenching when you lose one. And I lost three! I’ll have to play it again later…

What games are you currently playing? If you’ve tried any of the games mentioned above, what did you think?

Leave a Reply

