Chapter 153 – Happy Holidays!

Today is winter solstice which means today has the shortest amount of daylight and the longest night of the year (here in the Northern Hemisphere, that is). Days will still be quite dark for a while, but that’s just a good excuse to light some candles and quiet down in preparation for Christmas.

christmas

My Christmas this year will be a bit different as I’ll spend it with my boyfriend’s relatives instead of mine, but all in all I’d expect it to follow the usual routine. We’ll eat a nice Christmas dinner, spend time together, maybe play some games and open gifts.

I try to take it easy this time of year. Many people hustle and hurry and worry, but I’m just looking for some peace and quiet. And good food. And chocolate. Definitely chocolate. I’ve put up some decorations but nothing excessive and there won’t be a tree since we’ll spend the “big days” at a relative’s house.

My peace and quiet also involves — quite shockingly — a break from social media. I don’t want to be that person who’s checking their notifications at the dinner table or browsing email while others open gifts.

We don’t always show enough appreciation for those closest to us and especially nowadays it’s easy to spend time with someone while your mind is lost in the internet. I’ll check WordPress and Twitter and all the like over the holidays, but I’ll try to cut back, just for a few days.

What does that mean in practice?

I’ll take the rest of the week off to really focus on the people around me. Now is the perfect time to show some love for those close to you.

My next post will come next Wednesday, and in it I’ll look back at this year of blogging. If there’s anything you’d like me to address or answer in that post, feel free to send me an email or leave a comment!

Until that, I want to wish you all Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays, whichever way you’re going to spend the rest of the week.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 153 – Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

