Chapter 154 – My Year in Blogging

We’re only a few days away from the end of 2016 and all the shiny New Year’s Resolutions so now’s a good time to review the past year. I’ve truly enjoyed this year of blogging, but I’m interested in seeing what you thought about it.

redberries

This year my blog received more visitors and views than in 2015. The number of viewers went up for almost 40%! I love writing in general but it’s amazing to know there are people out there who enjoy reading my posts.

This blog is as much for you as it is for me, so I want to say:

THANK YOU for each and every one of you!

What did this year include then? Here’s a rundown of all kinds of “most viewed” posts and what I think of them now.

Most viewed movie review was The Jungle Book (2016 movie). I liked the movie and gave it 3.5 stars, but out of all the movies I saw in 2016, my favorite must have been Dr. Strange. Only now I realize I never reviewed it in my blog, so maybe I should. In any case I recommend you check it out!

Most viewed book review was Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. It’s definitely one of my favorites but after reading Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes, I’m not sure which is number one on my non-fiction list. Out of fiction books, my favorite this year was Raelia by Lynette Noni.

Most viewed non-review post was Teach Yourself Playwriting with One-Scene Plays, which was a great guest post by Aino Hyyryläinen. It was fun having a guest blogger in my blog, and it’s one of the things I’m always looking to include more. I haven’t been very active about it but maybe 2017 will be the year!

Most viewed Chapter post was A Weather for Reading, in which I shared lists of books to fit different types of summer weather. In the post I also mentioned I wasn’t a big summer reader. Statistics support my claim because out of the 14 books I read this year, I only read 2 during the summer months (June, July, August).

Most viewed Friday Snippet was #83 where I wished everyone a great Midsummer. Guess I was celebrating Midsummer instead of reading!


Those were my top-viewed posts of 2016, at least according to WordPress Stats. It’s interesting to see how well my reviews are doing, so I’m definitely going to keep posting them. I’m especially looking forward to two movies in early 2017 but I’m sure there’ll be plenty of books as well.

If there’s something you’d like me to review (be it a book, movie or game), leave a comment or send me a message!

I’ll post a Friday Snippet as usual this week but the next time we meet in a Chapter, it’ll be 2017. A great time for some New Year’s Resolutions…

How did your year in blogging look like? Which were your favorite post from your blog and other people’s?

Leave a Reply

