Chapter 155 – New Year’s Resolutions

“Rules are meant to be broken” is a phrase that fits New Year’s Resolutions well. We’ve all made resolutions that didn’t happen. We’ve probably done it more than once. I plan to fulfill my newest resolutions but we’ll see how it goes in a year!

newyearsresolutions

Reading

Starting with the easy one: Goodreads Reading Challenge.

I first did it in 2015 with a goal of 6 books and then again last year with 12. I’m aiming for 14 in 2017. It’s not a big leap from the previous one but my biggest goal is simply to not read any less.

I’m also hoping to expand what I actually read. Out of my 61 books read overall in Goodreads, 29 are tagged fantasy. I do enjoy fantasy books and currently I have mostly those waiting in my TBR pile, but it’s refreshing to try something else every now and then. Not quite sure what I’ll be trying but if you have any suggestions, let me know!

What’s your reading goal?

Writing

I’m still writing, don’t worry! Broken Magic is well under way and will definitely be published this year. But apart from concluding my trilogy, I’m looking forward to working with another fantasy novel I’m eventually going to publish.

I’ll participate in NaNoWriMo again this year which means I’ll be working with three novels this year. Not bad!

Every year I also promise myself I’ll write more short stories. This year I’ll definitely do it… I think.

As for writing in general, I want to keep track of my writing as well as I can. Daily word counts, pages edited and so on. If you know where to find a good tracker, let me know!

What are your writing resolutions?

Blogging

This is a tricky resolution. I want to improve my blog but I haven’t been doing a good job in a while now. I tell myself I don’t have the time but I would, if I just put my mind into it. I don’t know if I have to schedule a “blogging hour” into my day or what, but I want to give my blog and the blogs of others the attention they deserve.

I noticed that my Reviews rank high in views so I’ll keep posting those along with Chapters and Friday Snippets. If you’d like to see more of certain content from me, leave a comment! Suggestions are always welcome.

And most importantly: I’ll spend more time interacting with other bloggers. I read a lot of blogs in my reader but most of the time I only leave a “like” instead of a comment. Sometimes it’s just hard to find the right words for a comment but I want to work on that.

How will you shape your blog in 2017?

Life

Let’s end with an old classic: healthier life. Healthier food, more exercise, less slumping over the keyboard…

I want to accomplish this, I really do. Especially since I was on a good healthy roll earlier in 2016 but then it broke and these days I don’t feel so good. My neck and back always ache, and my arms turn to spaghetti if I lift pretty much anything. I have a few trips coming up this year so I want to be able to enjoy them to the fullest.

This is probably my top goal because if I feel good, I’ll write more.

Are you planning on changing your everyday habits?


Those were my resolutions for 2017! Do you have similar goals or is there something else entirely on your plate?

Even if you don’t make any resolutions, is there something specific you’re hoping to achieve this year?

Leave a Reply

