Review: Outpost by Adam Baker

Outpost takes us to a refinery platform called Kasker Rampart that has turned from a bustling mini city of workers into a quiet and lonely space in the Arctic Ocean.

Outpost_by_Adam_Baker

A crew of fifteen still inhabits Rampart when news come from the main land that some sort of pandemic is taking over the world. Unknown disease with no known cure has trampled over the crew’s homes, and their commission at the Arctic has been called to an end. But plans never work out quite as you’d expect and when rescue never arrives, the people on the Rampart face cold, lack of food, and the strange disease. They need to find their own way back home, but with winter approaching and supplies running low, it’s far from an easy task.

The first sentence of the book already sets out its tone: “Jane woke, stretched, and decided to kill herself.” This book is not a fun, light read. It’s chilling, gripping and at times frightening as well. I haven’t read many sci-fi horror books (and even less zombie apocalypse ones) but this was a good read, and I was very happy to find out that it was only book one.

The characters all have their problems and weaknesses, but their strengths too. Maybe the main characters transforms a bit too much a bit too fast, but it wasn’t distracting for me. I came to care for the characters and while I couldn’t wait to turn the page to find out what happens next, I was also afraid to read what hardship befalls the characters this time. I don’t know what to expect from book two, Terminus, but I doubt it’ll be smooth sailing for the characters. Far from it.

The book held me in its grip from start to finish. Some elements in the story were a bit out there, but it is sci-fi so I suppose it’s fine. I was somewhat confused by what was happening and what had happened at some parts towards the end, but for the most part the plot kept it together, even though it keeps changing PoVs at odd intervals and the time frames weren’t always clear. Still, it was a very enjoyable read and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes a bit of sci-fi zombie horror in their day.

∗4/5∗

Leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.